Visa support

Register now

The visa to the Republic of Kazakhstan is issued on the basis of the visa support procedure. This procedure includes the submission of an official Letter of Invitation (LOI) to the RK Ministry of Foreign Affairs by the host organization not later than two weeks prior to the expected date of the participant’s entry into the Republic of Kazakhstan. After considering this document, the RK MFA sends the permission to the relevant Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan, where participants can obtain their visa.

Citizens of the countries that do not have the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan can obtain their visas on arrival to Astana and Almaty airports. Please note that ‘visa on arrival’ still requires obtaining visa support number through the abovementioned procedure well in advance. You will not be allowed to board the plane bound to Astana without presenting a copy of the officially approved invitation with visa support number.

For visa support procedure, please fill in the Invitation Form (download form) and send it to together with a copy of your passport.

This procedure can take up to 7 days. After receiving an email with your visa support number, you may go to the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan and submit the following documents:

Your passport valid for at least three months longer than the validity of the requested visa

One color photo 3,5cm x 4,5 cm

Completed Visa Application form (download form)

Your visa support number.

The period for consideration of visa issuance can take up to 7 days.

Due to the high interest in the EXPO related events, we expect a higher number of applications for visa support numbers and visas, so we cannot guarantee that you will receive your visa in time if you send us your request after May 25, 2017.

The list of countries, which signed agreements with the Republic of Kazakhstan on a visa regime by passport types, is available here.

The UN Laissez-Passer holders do not need visas for entry to the Republic of Kazakhstan.

From January 1, 2017, a visa-free regime (for all types of passports) has been established on a unilateral basis for the nationals of 45 countries listed below for up to 30 calendar days from the date of crossing the state border:

List of 45 countries: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America.

Citizens of Jordan, Liechtenstein, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia do not need to obtain visa support numbers and can apply for visa directly at the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan in their countries.

Upon entry to Kazakhstan, you will be given a migration card, which is usually distributed to passengers on in­coming flights or at arrival control points. The migration card must be carefully kept throughout the duration of your stay in Kazakhstan and is given back upon departure.

A foreign national* planning to stay in the country for over 5 days must register with the local Migration Police within five calendar days upon crossing the Kazakhstan national border. The majority of hotels provide this service for their guests and may charge $20-30. However, if you plan to stay in a private apartment or a small hotel, please check in advance if such service is provided. Should you have any questions regarding this issue, please contact the Organizing Committee.

*Note: The nationals of 45 countries listed above, as well as Belarus, Brazil, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Oman, Qatar, Russian Federation and Saudi Arabia are exempt from registration requirements for up to 30 days.

For any questions about visa issues, please contact,

tel. +7 7172 790190.