Visa support

The visa to the Republic of Kazakhstan is issued on the basis of the visa support procedure. This procedure includes the submission of an official Letter of Invitation (LOI) to the RK Ministry of Foreign Affairs by the host organization no later than two weeks prior to the expected date of the participant’s entry into the Republic of Kazakhstan. After considering this document, the RK MFA sends permission to the relevant Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan, where participants can obtain their visa.

Citizens of the countries that do not have the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan can obtain their visas only on arrival to Nur-Sultan and Almaty airports. Please note that ‘visa on arrival’ still requires obtaining visa support number through the abovementioned procedure well in advance. You will not be allowed to board the plane bound to Nur-Sultan without presenting a copy of the officially approved invitation with visa support number.

For visa support procedure, please fill in the Invitation Form (download form) and send it to together with a copy of your passport.

This procedure can take up to 7 days. After receiving an email with your visa support number, you may go to the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan and submit the following documents:

Your passport valid for at least three months longer than the validity of the requested visa

One color photo 3,5cm x 4,5 cm

Completed Visa Application form (download form)

Copy of your Letter of Invitation

Your visa support number.

Visa processing time can take up to 7 days.

The list of countries, which signed agreements with the Republic of Kazakhstan on a visa regime by passport types, is available here.

The UN Laissez-Passer holders do not need a visa for entry to the Republic of Kazakhstan.

Citizens of Vietnam, India, Indonesia, Jordan, Iran, China, Cuba, Macedonia, Morocco, Pakistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Philippines, Montenegro, and Sri Lanka, who hold service passports, do not need a visa.

From January 1, 2019, a visa-free regime has been established on a unilateral basis for the nationals of 61 countries listed below for up to 30 calendar days from the date of crossing the state border:

CIS countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.

Europe and America: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States of America.

Australia and Oceania: Australia, New Zealand.

Asia and Africa: Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Singapore, Turkey, United Arab Emirates.

Asia and Africa: Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Singapore, Turkey, United Arab Emirates. 

Citizens of Jordan, Liechtenstein, Oman, Qatar and Saudi Arabia do not need to obtain visa support numbers and can apply for a visa directly at the Embassy/Consulate of the Republic of Kazakhstan in their countries.

On January 1, 2019, a pilot project was launched in the Republic of Kazakhstan to issue a one-time visa for foreigners in electronic format. An electronic visa (business) is issued on the basis of a valid invitation from KazEnergy. (download form)For more information, please follow the link.

Foreigners can enter/leave the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan using a valid electronic visa only at checkpoints of the international airports in Nur-Sultan and Almaty.

Business e-visas are issued to citizens of 23 states:

Bahamas, Bermuda, Burundi, Honduras, Greenland, Indonesia, Qatar, Kuwait, Laos, Macau, Morocco, Vatican, Virgin Islands, Vietnam, Haiti, Cambodia, Cuba, Macedonia, Nicaragua, Oman, Serbia, South Africa, Montenegro.

Step-by-step e-visa issuance algorithm:

to obtain an electronic visa, you must register on the website of the Visa and Migration Portal;

after registration, familiarize yourself with the requirements for obtaining an electronic visa;

enter an invitation number (the invitation number is sent by the inviting party in the Republic of Kazakhstan) and fill in the visa application form;

pay the consular fee;

print an electronic visa (the visa is formed in your personal account and sent to the email address you provided when filling out the application form)

present a printed electronic visa when passing through passport control at international airports in Nur-Sultan and Almaty.

Upon entry to Kazakhstan, you will be given a migration card, which is usually distributed to passengers on incoming flights or at arrival control points. The migration card must be carefully kept throughout your stay in Kazakhstan and given back upon departure.

A foreign national* planning to stay in the country for over 5 days must register with the local Migration Police within five calendar days upon crossing the Kazakhstan national border. The majority of hotels provide this service for their guests and may charge $20-30. However, if you plan to stay in a private apartment or a small hotel, please check in advance if such service is provided. Should you have any questions regarding this issue, please contact the Organizing Committee.

*Note: The nationals of 61 countries listed above, as well as Belarus, Brazil, Jordan, Liechtenstein, Oman, Qatar, Russian Federation and Saudi Arabia are exempt from registration requirements for up to 30 days.

For any questions about visa issues, please contact:, +7 7172 79 49 80.